Contacts

The conservationists and natural resource professionals listed below can advise landowners, land trusts, municipalities, and organizations on where to make young forest, how to do it the best way, and how to find funding to create this valuable habitat. Each person's contact information is followed by any special wildlife emphasis and/or the region where he or she works.

You can also contact your state's wildlife division, as many such agencies have private-lands biologists and programs that explain, encourage, and sometimes help fund habitat management practices that benefit young forest wildlife. Federal programs that help private farm and forestland owners make habitat include the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's Partners for Fish and Wildlife Program and the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.


New England

Haley Andreozzi, UNH Cooperative Extension, Durham, NH, haley.andreozzi@unh.edu, 603-862-5327 (NH Coverts Project, New England cottontail, southern NH)

Matt DiBona, National Wild Turkey Federation, Belchertown, MA, mdibona@nwtf.net, 302-943-3239 (wild turkey, VT)

Gary Donovan, Wildlife Management Institute, Holden, ME, gdonovan46@msn.com, 207-843-6326 (ME, New England Region)

Steve Fuller, Wildlife Management Institute, Weare, NH, sfuller71@comcast.net, 603-230-2470 (New England cottontail, New England Region)

Beth Goldstein, Realty Specialist, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Hadley, MA, beth.goldstein@fws.gov, 413-253-8564 (Great Thicket National Wildlife Refuge, CT, MA, ME, NH, RI)

David Irving, Shelterwood Solutions, Lincoln, ME, david@shelterwoodmaine.com, 207-944-9066 (ME; consulting forester)

John Lanier, Wildlife Management Institute, Colebrook, NH, john@ursush.com, 603-237-8715 (northern NH)

Dale May, Wildlife Management Institute, Hampton, CT, dale.may@sbcglobal.net, 860-617-2938 (CT)

Brendan Moore, Acer Forestry, Bristol, VT, bmoore@acerforestry.com, C 802-989-8451, H 802-453-7410 (VT, New York, New England; registered Technical Service Provider with U.S. Dept. of Agriculture)

Joe Nelson, Wildlife Management Institute, Vergennes, VT, jwnelson.pc@gmail.com, 802-343-9888 (VT, northern NY)

Ed and Julie Robinson, Loudon, NH, julesprobinson@comcast.net, 603-856-1602 and 603-856-1603 (NH)

Lisa Wahle, Connecticut Division of Energy and and Environmental Protection, Marlborough, CT, Lisa.Wahle@ct.gov, W 860-295-9523, C 860-304-6184 (New England cottontail, CT)

Andrew Weik, Ruffed Grouse Society/American Woodcock Society, Freeville, NY, AndyW@ruffedgrousesociety.org, 607-793-4832 (ruffed grouse and woodcock, New England, NY, Lower Mississippi Valley, eastern Canada)


Mid-Atlantic

Mark Banker, Lemont, PA, markebanker@gmail.com, 814-440-7966 (southern PA, northern NJ, eastern MD, and WV)

Mitchell Blake, National Wild Turkey Federation, Harrisburg, PA, mblake@nwtf.net, 814-977-0007 (wild turkey, PA, NJ, MD, DE)

Michael Burger, N.Y. Audubon/WMI, Ithaca, NY, mburger@cornell.edu, W 607-254-2441, C 607-229-4635 (golden-winged warbler, northeastern NY)

Steve Capel, Wildlife Management Institute, Midlothian, VA, stevecapel41@gmail.com, 804-379-4519 (southern and eastern VA)

John Coleman, Wildlife Management Institute, Woodstock, VA, poopaw@shentel.net, 540-459-2437 (northern VA)

Beth Goldstein, Realty Specialist, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Hadley, MA, beth.goldstein@fws.gov, 413-253-8564 (Great Thicket National Wildlife Refuge, NY)

Carl Graybill, Wildlife Management Institute, Annville, PA, cgraybilljr@comcast.net, 717-222-1053 (eastern and central PA)

Jeff Herrick, Wildlife Management Institute, E. Rochester, OH, jcherrick@myfrontiermail.com, 330-575-3177 (OH, western PA)

Doug Little, National Wild Turkey Federation, Cornwallville, NY, dlittle@nwtf.net, 518-239-4427 (wild turkey and New England cottontail, eastern NY)

Tom Mathews, Wildlife Management Institute, Cumberland, MD, tommathews@atlanticbb.net, 301-707-3475 (central and western MD)

Joe Nelson, Wildlife Management Institute, Vergennes, VT, joenelson.pc@gmail.com, 802-343-9888 (northern NY)

Linda Ordiway, Ruffed Grouse Society/American Woodcock Society, Bradford, PA, LindaO@ruffedgrousesociety.org, 412-720-6034 (ruffed grouse and woodcock, Mid-Atlantic, Southern Appalachians)

Dave Putnam, Wildlife Management Institute, Centre Hall, PA, putnam.dave@gmail.com, C 814-880-5123, W 814-234-6021, H 814-364-1091 (PA)


Midwest

Mark Banker, Lemont, PA, markebanker@gmail.com, 814-440-7966 (OH, Midwest region)

Ted Dick, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Forest Gamebird Coordinator, Grand Rapids, MN, Ted.Dick@state.mn.us, 218-999-7870 (MN)

Eric Ellis, Ruffed Grouse Society/American Woodcock Society, Traverse City, MI, EricE@ruffedgrousesociety.org, 231-360-7712 (ruffed grouse and woodcock, IN, Lower Peninsula MI, and OH)

Jeff Herrick, Wildlife Management Institute, E. Rochester, OH, jcherrick@myfrontiermail.com, 330-575-3177 (northern OH)

Valerie Johnson, Ruffed Grouse Society/American Woodcock Society, NRCS, Wisconsin DNR, ValerieJ@ruffedgrousesociety.org, Valerie.E.Johnson@wi.usda.gov, 715-635-8228 x 115 (office), 715-450-2531 (cell), (ruffed grouse and woodcock, northern WI)

Meadow Kouffeld-Hansen, Ruffed Grouse Society/American Woodcock Society, Grand Rapids, MN, MeadowK@ruffedgrousesociety.org, 218-999-4722 (office), 218-398-1076 (cell), (ruffed grouse and woodcock, MN, Upper Peninsula MI)

Pat Ruble, Wildlife Management Institute, Millersport, OH, PatRubleWMI@columbus.rr.com, 740-966-0496 (OH, Midwest region)

Robert Tomlinson, Wildlife Management Institute, Falcon Heights, MN, bobstomlinson@gmail.com, 651-387-4060 (MN)

Scott Walter, Ruffed Grouse Society/American Woodcock Society, Viola, WI, ScottW@ruffedgrousesociety.org, 608-538-3840 (office), 412-720-6038 (cell), (ruffed grouse and woodcock, WI, IL, IO)

Randee Wlodek, Wisconsin Young Forest Partnership Habitat Coordinator, Rhinelander, WI dnryoungforest@wisconsin.gov, 715-369-1180 (WI)


Regionwide and Administrative

Charles Fergus, Wildlife Management Institute, Lyndonville, VT, charleslfergus@gmail.com, 802-626-4220 (website and communications)

Judy Stokes Weber, Wildlife Management Institute, Rumney, NH, judystokesweber@roadrunner.com, 603-786-2577 or 603-348-5298 (communications)

Steve Weber, Wildlife Management Institute, Rumney, NH, sweber56@roadrunner.com, 603-786-2577 or 603-348-5298 (science and administration)